Models

Parts & accessories

Standards and gotchas

The rules behind the answers. These are the details that cause most wrong purchases.

Bosch smart system CompactTube 400

Bosch's slimmer smart-system in-frame battery (CompactTube 400, 400 Wh, 352 x 57 x 75 mm).

  • CompactTube is a different, smaller housing from the PowerTube; a frame built for a CompactTube does not take a PowerTube and vice versa.
  • Bosch lists it for horizontal or vertical integration with the same dimensions; confirm the version with your bike maker.
  • Bosch: 'Use only original Bosch batteries that the manufacturer has approved for your eBike' and 'Only charge the battery using original Bosch chargers'; Bosch warns other batteries/chargers can be a fire hazard (Bosch PowerTube 750 operating instructions, as hosted on ManualsLib).

Source: Bosch eBike Systems batteries page

Bosch smart system PowerPack Frame (down-tube mounted) battery

Bosch smart-system frame-mounted PowerPacks (400, 545, 725, 800 Wh); Bosch says all smart-system frame batteries use the same mount.

  • Bosch: 'All frame batteries of the smart system use the same mount' - you can insert another one 'provided the geometry of the eBike allows it'. Larger packs (725/800 Wh) are physically bigger, so frame clearance can rule them out.
  • Not interchangeable with Bosch eBike System 2 PowerPacks, even those with the same Wh number (e.g. PowerPack 400/500 System 2).
  • Bosch: 'Use only original Bosch batteries that the manufacturer has approved for your eBike' and 'Only charge the battery using original Bosch chargers'; Bosch warns other batteries/chargers can be a fire hazard (Bosch PowerTube 750 operating instructions, as hosted on ManualsLib).

Source: Bosch eBike Systems batteries page

Bosch smart system PowerPack Rack (luggage-rack mounted) battery

Bosch smart-system rack batteries (PowerPack 400 Rack, PowerPack 500 Rack) that slide into a Bosch-compatible luggage rack.

  • Only fits bikes whose rear rack is built for the smart-system PowerPack Rack; Bosch's page does not state that every rack takes both the 400 and 500 Rack, so confirm with the bike maker or dealer.
  • Not interchangeable with frame PowerPacks or with System 2 rack PowerPacks.
  • Bosch: 'Use only original Bosch batteries that the manufacturer has approved for your eBike' and 'Only charge the battery using original Bosch chargers'; Bosch warns other batteries/chargers can be a fire hazard (Bosch PowerTube 750 operating instructions, as hosted on ManualsLib).

Source: Bosch eBike Systems batteries page

Bosch smart system PowerTube (horizontal-insertion version)

Bosch smart-system in-frame PowerTube batteries in the horizontal version (500, 625, 750 Wh).

  • PowerTubes are built into the down tube and the frame is designed for one length: Bosch lists smart-system PowerTube 500 at 345 mm, 625 at 415 mm and 750 at 484 mm long. A different capacity only fits if the bike maker approves it for that frame.
  • Horizontal and vertical PowerTubes are separate versions (different part numbers, e.g. PowerTube 750 BBP3770 horizontal / BBP3771 vertical per Bosch's manual); buy the orientation your frame uses.
  • PowerTube 500 and 625 also exist for Bosch eBike System 2 under the same names; those do not fit this interface.
  • Bosch: 'Use only original Bosch batteries that the manufacturer has approved for your eBike' and 'Only charge the battery using original Bosch chargers'; Bosch warns other batteries/chargers can be a fire hazard (Bosch PowerTube 750 operating instructions, as hosted on ManualsLib).

Source: Bosch eBike Systems batteries page

Bosch smart system PowerTube (vertical-insertion version)

Bosch smart-system in-frame PowerTube batteries in the vertical version (500, 625, 750 Wh).

  • PowerTubes are built into the down tube and the frame is designed for one length: Bosch lists smart-system PowerTube 500 at 345 mm, 625 at 415 mm and 750 at 484 mm long. A different capacity only fits if the bike maker approves it for that frame.
  • Horizontal and vertical PowerTubes are separate versions (different part numbers, e.g. PowerTube 750 BBP3770 horizontal / BBP3771 vertical per Bosch's manual); buy the orientation your frame uses.
  • PowerTube 500 and 625 also exist for Bosch eBike System 2 under the same names; those do not fit this interface.
  • Bosch: 'Use only original Bosch batteries that the manufacturer has approved for your eBike' and 'Only charge the battery using original Bosch chargers'; Bosch warns other batteries/chargers can be a fire hazard (Bosch PowerTube 750 operating instructions, as hosted on ManualsLib).

Source: Bosch eBike Systems batteries page

Bosch eBike System 2 battery (pre-smart-system PowerPack / PowerTube)

Batteries for the older Bosch eBike System 2 (PowerPack and PowerTube versions not marked 'smart system'); they are not interchangeable with smart-system batteries.

  • This file does not yet list individual System 2 batteries (Bosch's System 2 product pages could not be read on 2026-10-13). Within System 2, frame vs rack vs PowerTube length/orientation still has to match the bike.
  • Bosch lists PowerTube variants 'in the smart system and in the Bosch eBike System 2' - same names, different systems.
  • Bosch: 'Use only original Bosch batteries that the manufacturer has approved for your eBike' and 'Only charge the battery using original Bosch chargers'; Bosch warns other batteries/chargers can be a fire hazard (Bosch PowerTube 750 operating instructions, as hosted on ManualsLib).

Source: Bosch eBike Systems batteries page

Lectric XP 2.0 / XP 3.0 step-over battery

Batteries Lectric lists for the XP 2.0 and XP 3.0 step-over frame (Legacy XP Spare 500 Wh, XP Long-Range 672 Wh).

  • Lectric: XP4 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP 1.0, XP 2.0, or XP 3.0 due to the new key position', and XP 2.0/3.0 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP4'.
  • Step-over only; step-thru frames use different batteries.
  • The XP Long-Range battery also fits the XP Lite 2.0 per Lectric (modeled as a link).

Source: Lectric eBikes XP Long-Range Battery page

Lectric XP Step-Thru 2.0 / 3.0 battery

Batteries Lectric lists for the XP Step-Thru 2.0 and 3.0.

  • Lectric: XP4 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP 1.0, XP 2.0, or XP 3.0 due to the new key position', and XP 2.0/3.0 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP4'.
  • Step-thru only; not the step-over battery.

Source: Lectric eBikes Legacy XP Step-Thru Long-Range Battery page

Lectric XP Lite battery (375 Wh)

The 48V 7.8Ah (375 Wh) battery Lectric says is 'Compatible with the Lectric XP Lite models only' (XP Lite 1.0 and 2.0).

  • XP Lite 2.0 can also take the XP Long-Range battery per Lectric (modeled as a link).

Source: Lectric eBikes XP Lite Spare Battery page

Lectric XP4 750 step-over long-range battery (840 Wh)

The 48V 17.5Ah (840 Wh) long-range battery Lectric lists for the XP4 750 step-over.

  • Lectric: XP4 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP 1.0, XP 2.0, or XP 3.0 due to the new key position', and XP 2.0/3.0 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP4'.
  • Lectric lists this pack only for the XP4 750 step-over.

Source: Lectric eBikes XP4 750 Long-Range Spare Battery page

Lectric XP4 750 Step-Thru long-range battery (840 Wh)

The 48V 17.5Ah (840 Wh) long-range battery Lectric lists for the XP4 750 Step-Thru.

  • Lectric: XP4 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP 1.0, XP 2.0, or XP 3.0 due to the new key position', and XP 2.0/3.0 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP4'.
  • Lectric lists this pack only for the XP4 750 Step-Thru.

Source: Lectric eBikes XP4 750 Long-Range Step-Thru Spare Battery page

Lectric XP4 step-over battery (500 Wh)

The 48V 10.4Ah (500 Wh) spare battery Lectric lists for the XP4 step-over.

  • Lectric: XP4 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP 1.0, XP 2.0, or XP 3.0 due to the new key position', and XP 2.0/3.0 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP4'.
  • Lectric lists the 840 Wh long-range pack only for the XP4 750; whether either pack fits the other XP4 variant is not stated, so they are kept separate here.

Source: Lectric eBikes XP4 Spare Battery page

Lectric XP4 Step-Thru battery (500 Wh)

The 48V 10.4Ah (500 Wh) spare battery Lectric lists for the XP4 Step-Thru.

  • Lectric: XP4 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP 1.0, XP 2.0, or XP 3.0 due to the new key position', and XP 2.0/3.0 batteries are 'NOT compatible with the XP4'.
  • Step-thru only.

Source: Lectric eBikes XP4 Step-Thru Spare Battery page

Rad Power Bikes external (down-tube) battery - Safe Shield Advanced External 13 Ah / 15 Ah

Rad's removable external down-tube batteries; Rad lists both the 15 Ah and 13 Ah Safe Shield Advanced External for these 2020+ external-battery models.

  • Rad lists as NOT compatible with the external Safe Shield packs: RadCity Step-Thru 3, RadCity High-Step 4, and Rad models with a semi-integrated battery; the 15 Ah pack also excludes RadMini 2 Step-Thru and RadRover 1 Step-Thru, and the 13 Ah pack excludes Rad models made before 2019.
  • The Safe Shield Basic External 10 Ah is NOT in this interface: Rad lists it as incompatible with RadWagon 5 and RadRunner Plus (MY2025) and recommends it mainly for the RadMission.
  • CPSC warning (Nov 24, 2025): stop using Rad lithium-ion batteries model RP-1304, RAD-S1304Y and HL-RP-S1304, sold with RadWagon 4, RadCity HS 4, RadRover High Step 5, RadCity Step Thru 3, RadRover Step Thru 1, RadRunner 1/2, RadRunner Plus and RadExpand 5; the warning states Safe Shield and semi-integrated batteries are not subject to it.
  • Rad: Safe Shield batteries 'are compatible only with our updated Rad charger' - 'Do not use with older Rad Power Bikes chargers or any third-party or aftermarket chargers.'

Source: Rad Power Bikes Safe Shield Advanced External Battery pages; CPSC warning

Rad Power Bikes semi-integrated battery - Safe Shield Semi-Integrated 14 Ah / Advanced Semi-Integrated 15 Ah

Rad's semi-integrated down-tube batteries used on RadRover 6 Plus, RadCity 5 Plus and RadRunner 3 Plus.

  • Rad lists semi-integrated models as incompatible with its external batteries, and vice versa.
  • Radster Road/Trail (15 Ah) and RadRunner Max (14 Ah) are linked only to the pack Rad names for them.
  • Rad: Safe Shield batteries 'are compatible only with our updated Rad charger' - 'Do not use with older Rad Power Bikes chargers or any third-party or aftermarket chargers.'
  • Rad: 'Not for use on non-Rad Power Bikes branded ebikes.'

Source: Rad Power Bikes Safe Shield semi-integrated battery pages

Shimano STEPS 1st-gen external down-tube battery (BT-E6010 / BT-E8010 / BT-E8014 / BT-E8016)

Shimano's 1st-generation frame-mounted (external) batteries on BM-E6010 / BM-E8010 / BM-E8016 mounts.

  • Shimano's chart shows the Gen.2 external BT-EN604/605/606 share a 'common frame mount' shape with these, but Gen.2 batteries need a Gen.2 battery mount and drive unit - looks similar, not interchangeable.
  • Mounts differ by battery (BM-E6010, BM-E8010, BM-E8016); a longer 17.5 Ah BT-E8016 needs a mount and frame space for it.
  • Shimano Gen.2 (BT-EN..., used with EP801/EP600/EP500) and 1st-generation (BT-E...) components: 'With some exceptions, first-generation and Gen.2 products ... are not compatible with each other.' Gen.2 batteries and mounts are marked 'Gen.2'.
  • 'EP8' is used for both the DU-EP800 (1st gen) and DU-EP801 (Gen.2), and 'EP6' for DU-EP600 (Gen.2); check the drive-unit model number, not the marketing name.

Source: Shimano battery and battery mount compatibility chart (C-511)

Shimano STEPS 1st-gen integrated battery BT-E8020

Shimano's early in-frame battery BT-E8020 on the BM-E8020 mount.

  • Uses its own BM-E8020 mount; not interchangeable with the later BT-E8035/BT-E8036 integrated batteries.
  • Shimano Gen.2 (BT-EN..., used with EP801/EP600/EP500) and 1st-generation (BT-E...) components: 'With some exceptions, first-generation and Gen.2 products ... are not compatible with each other.' Gen.2 batteries and mounts are marked 'Gen.2'.
  • 'EP8' is used for both the DU-EP800 (1st gen) and DU-EP801 (Gen.2), and 'EP6' for DU-EP600 (Gen.2); check the drive-unit model number, not the marketing name.
  • Shimano: 'It is recommended to use a SHIMANO genuine battery' and 'Use the specified battery and battery charger combination for charging.'

Source: Shimano battery and battery mount compatibility chart (C-511)

Shimano STEPS 1st-gen integrated battery (BT-E8035 / BT-E8036)

Shimano's 1st-generation in-frame (swing-in) batteries on BM-E8030 / BM-E8031 mounts.

  • Shimano's chart does not list these for DU-E6000/E6001/E6010/E6002/E6012.
  • BT-E8035 (14 Ah) and BT-E8036 (17.5 Ah) are different sizes; the frame must be built for the one you buy.
  • Shimano's chart footnotes that some batteries do not support drive-unit output over 500 W; check the chart for your exact combination.
  • Shimano Gen.2 (BT-EN..., used with EP801/EP600/EP500) and 1st-generation (BT-E...) components: 'With some exceptions, first-generation and Gen.2 products ... are not compatible with each other.' Gen.2 batteries and mounts are marked 'Gen.2'.

Source: Shimano battery and battery mount compatibility chart (C-511)

Shimano STEPS 1st-gen rear-carrier battery (BT-E6000 / BT-E6001)

Shimano's 1st-generation rack-mounted batteries on BM-E6000 mounts.

  • Shimano's compatibility chart pairs these with BM-E6000-A/-B mounts; not listed for DU-E8000/E7000/E8080.
  • Shimano Gen.2 (BT-EN..., used with EP801/EP600/EP500) and 1st-generation (BT-E...) components: 'With some exceptions, first-generation and Gen.2 products ... are not compatible with each other.' Gen.2 batteries and mounts are marked 'Gen.2'.
  • 'EP8' is used for both the DU-EP800 (1st gen) and DU-EP801 (Gen.2), and 'EP6' for DU-EP600 (Gen.2); check the drive-unit model number, not the marketing name.
  • Shimano: 'It is recommended to use a SHIMANO genuine battery' and 'Use the specified battery and battery charger combination for charging.'

Source: Shimano battery and battery mount compatibility chart (C-511)

Shimano Gen.2 battery BT-EN404 / BT-EN405

Shimano Gen.2 batteries BT-EN404 (11.6 Ah) and BT-EN405 (14 Ah); the Gen.2 dealer manual pairs them with BM-EN400 mounts.

  • Need a Gen.2 battery mount and Gen.2 drive unit (EP801/EP600/EP500).
  • Shimano Gen.2 (BT-EN..., used with EP801/EP600/EP500) and 1st-generation (BT-E...) components: 'With some exceptions, first-generation and Gen.2 products ... are not compatible with each other.' Gen.2 batteries and mounts are marked 'Gen.2'.
  • 'EP8' is used for both the DU-EP800 (1st gen) and DU-EP801 (Gen.2), and 'EP6' for DU-EP600 (Gen.2); check the drive-unit model number, not the marketing name.
  • Shimano: 'It is recommended to use a SHIMANO genuine battery' and 'Use the specified battery and battery charger combination for charging.'

Source: Shimano Gen.2 battery dealer's manual DM-BTE001-02

Shimano Gen.2 external down-tube battery (BT-EN604 / BT-EN605 / BT-EN606)

Shimano Gen.2 frame-mounted (external) batteries on the BM-EN600 mount.

  • Same 'common frame mount' shape as 1st-gen external batteries per Shimano's chart, but not electrically interchangeable with 1st-gen drive units/mounts.
  • Shimano Gen.2 (BT-EN..., used with EP801/EP600/EP500) and 1st-generation (BT-E...) components: 'With some exceptions, first-generation and Gen.2 products ... are not compatible with each other.' Gen.2 batteries and mounts are marked 'Gen.2'.
  • 'EP8' is used for both the DU-EP800 (1st gen) and DU-EP801 (Gen.2), and 'EP6' for DU-EP600 (Gen.2); check the drive-unit model number, not the marketing name.
  • Shimano: 'It is recommended to use a SHIMANO genuine battery' and 'Use the specified battery and battery charger combination for charging.'

Source: Shimano battery and battery mount compatibility chart (C-511)

Shimano Gen.2 integrated battery (BT-EN805 / BT-EN806)

Shimano Gen.2 in-frame (swing-in) batteries on BM-EN800 / BM-EN801 mounts.

  • BT-EN805 (14 Ah) and BT-EN806 (17.5 Ah) differ in size; the frame must be built for the one you buy.
  • Not interchangeable with 1st-gen BT-E8035/BT-E8036 even though the mounts look similar.
  • Shimano Gen.2 (BT-EN..., used with EP801/EP600/EP500) and 1st-generation (BT-E...) components: 'With some exceptions, first-generation and Gen.2 products ... are not compatible with each other.' Gen.2 batteries and mounts are marked 'Gen.2'.
  • 'EP8' is used for both the DU-EP800 (1st gen) and DU-EP801 (Gen.2), and 'EP6' for DU-EP600 (Gen.2); check the drive-unit model number, not the marketing name.

Source: Shimano battery and battery mount compatibility chart (C-511)

Bosch smart system charger (2A / 4A Charger)

Chargers Bosch lists under 'Battery chargers for the smart system' (2A Charger, 4A Charger); they charge smart-system batteries.

  • Bosch lists the Compact, Standard and Fast Charger separately, under 'Battery chargers for the Bosch eBike system 2'; do not mix System 2 chargers with smart-system batteries or vice versa.
  • Chargers are region-specific: Bosch lists 220-240 V versions (Europe, Australia, South Africa, NZ) and 100-120 V versions (USA, Canada).
  • Bosch: chargers are IP40 and 'not for outdoor use'.
  • Bosch: 'Use only original Bosch batteries that the manufacturer has approved for your eBike' and 'Only charge the battery using original Bosch chargers'; Bosch warns other batteries/chargers can be a fire hazard (Bosch PowerTube 750 operating instructions, as hosted on ManualsLib).

Source: Bosch eBike Systems chargers page

Bosch eBike System 2 charger (Compact / Standard / Fast Charger)

Chargers Bosch lists under 'Battery chargers for the Bosch eBike system 2'; for System 2 batteries only.

  • Not for smart-system batteries; the smart system uses the 2A/4A Charger.
  • Bosch footnote: 'Charging current is limited to 4A for the PowerPack 300 and Classic + Line batteries.'
  • Bosch: 'Use only original Bosch batteries that the manufacturer has approved for your eBike' and 'Only charge the battery using original Bosch chargers'; Bosch warns other batteries/chargers can be a fire hazard (Bosch PowerTube 750 operating instructions, as hosted on ManualsLib).

Source: Bosch eBike Systems chargers page

Rad Power Bikes battery charger

Rad's own charger for Rad batteries; Rad says the Rad Battery Charger is 'compatible with all Rad Power Bikes' batteries released between 2017 and today'.

  • Safe Shield batteries must use the 'updated' Rad charger; Rad's pages do not give a model number to tell updated from older chargers, so buy a current charger from Rad.
  • RadWagon 5 spec: '48VDC, 2 Amp Rad Power Bikes smart charger', 100-240 V AC input.
  • Rad: 'Not for use on non-Rad Power Bikes branded ebikes.'

Source: Rad Power Bikes Rad Battery Charger page

Shimano STEPS / E-BIKE charger (EC-E6002, EC-E8004)

Shimano's EC-E6002 and EC-E8004 chargers; their manuals list both 1st-gen (BT-E...) and Gen.2 (BT-EN...) batteries as compatible.

  • Charging a battery off the bike needs an adapter for some models: SM-BTE60 (e.g. BT-E6000/E6001/E6010, BT-EN404/405) or SM-BTE80 (e.g. BT-E8035/E8036, BT-EN805/806); sold separately.
  • The older EC-E6000 charger 'does not support the charging of batteries with model names ending with -A' (Shimano manual).
  • Shimano notes the list 'Includes batteries that may not be usable in your region.'

Source: Shimano EC-E8004 charger user's manual

Bosch PowerMore 250 range extender (smart system)

Bosch's 250 Wh water-bottle-size range extender for smart-system eBikes.

  • Bosch: 'Please find out in advance, from specialist dealers, if you can use the Range Extender for your eBike' - not every smart-system bike supports it, so no bike is marked as accepting it here.
  • Bosch: it 'can be combined with all batteries of the smart system', but it is not DualBattery-compatible.

Source: Bosch eBike Systems batteries page